The Alphabet Series Volume 1

SKU: FB2189

Write a Review
The Alphabet Series Volume 1

Storybooks carefully follow the scope and sequence of the Recipe for Reading curriculum, but can also be used with any phonics or core program as additional decodable text.

This volume of 18 vocabulary controlled selections enables students to apply their phonics skills in context. The stories, which increase in difficulty as the lessons progress, help students practice target words and review sounds and sight words. The stories enable emergent and struggling reader to practice skills while they read motivating, engaging stories.

The Volume 1 storybooks correspond to the first third of the lessons in the Recipe for Reading manual.

Skills Addressed:

  • Consonant sounds
  • Consonant-vowel-consonant words (short vowels)
  • Consonant digraphs
  • Two-syllable compound words
  • Doubling rule for ff-ll-ss-zz
  • Plural words
  • Sight word recognition
  • Automaticity and fluency
  • Beginning comprehension

Grades K-–2
View Sample Pages

Recommended Materials

Additional Learning